$1,585.60
3 Marathons in 3 Days for the Great Barrier Reef Great Barrier Reef Foundation
3 Marathons in 3 Days for the Great Barrier Reef
$1,585.60
Great Barrier Reef Foundation
3 Marathons in 3 Days for the Great Barrier Reef
3 Marathons in 3 Days for the Great Barrier Reef

Rankin's page has now expired

692 days ago, Rankin created this page and gave everything for Great Barrier Reef Foundation:

  • Posted 2 times.

  • Shared their page with everyone they could.

  • Received 28 donations from generous family and friends.

  • Raised $1,585.60.

My Story

Hello friends and family!

Please sponsor me in my efforts running “3 Marathons in 3 Days” (http://3marathonsin3days.com/3-marathons-in-3-days-2017/) in July in Queensland! Your donation will fund one of the most important causes of our time – climate change and the reef restoration of our unique global treasure, the Great Barrier Reef.

I have a genuine love and passion for running because there are virtually no limits -- I am obsessed with the question “What’s next?”. While trekking in the countryside of Myanmar with two friends, I was inspired to find my next challenge and set new running goals. More importantly, I was inspired to think outside the box and find a creative way to give back to the community. I have two passions going for me, my love for running, and my love for the natural world. That was when I had my epiphany: I will run multiple marathons and raise money to donate for a foundation dedicated to the protection and preservation of the natural wonders of Far North Queensland region of Australia.

I’ve decided that I would like to participate in “3 Marathons in 3 Days” challenge in July 2017 and raise money for the Great Barrier Reef Foundation (GBRF). The GBRF is dedicated to funding research projects, and practical and innovative solutions that benefit the Reef, particularly from the urgent issue of the degradation and bleaching of the coral reefs. This cause is important to me because I am an international student from the USA pursuing my MSc in Zoology and Ecology at James Cook University. I am (still) in awe of Australia’s natural beauty and would like to be involved in the collective effort to preserve it for future generations.

So don’t let me run three marathons in three days for nothing! Help me raise money for GBRF to protect the Reef! Donate if you can and spread the word!

Much Love,
Rankin

Thank you to our partnerships and sponsorship:

  1. The Great Barrier Reef Foundation: https://www.barrierreef.org/
  2. Dr. Adam Smith and Reef Ecologic: http://www.reefecologic.org/
  3. Merrell: https://www.merrellaustralia.com.au/
  4. Cairns Post: http://www.cairnspost.com.au/
  5. Centre of Contemporary Arts http://www.centre-of-contemporary-arts-cairns.com.au/
  6. Kwik Kopy (Cairns) http://www.kwikkopy.com.au/
  7. Cairns Dynamic Running http://www.dynamicrunning.com.au/
  8. Tailwind Nutrition http://www.tailwindnutrition.com.au/
  9. James Cook University Student Association http://www.jcusa.edu.au
  10. James Cook University Sustainability Club https://www.facebook.com/groups/129551637238199/?fref=ts

Thank You

Top Supporters
Show more Top Supporters Hide

Donations Summary

Gbrf red gregorian sea fan v rgb
Charity

Great Barrier Reef Foundation